Monday Dec. 5th, 2016 Is A Day of RECOGNITON for FSA “Pro” Shufflers!! Roll of Champions Takes Place in Lakeland!!

FSA_Logo[1]Roll of Champions:  At the Lakeland, FL Shuffleboard Courts, 820 E. Robson St. in Lakeland, beginning Monday, Dec 5th at 08:30, the top 48  Florida Shufflers for the 2015-2016 Season will be called to the podium and presented a Special Pin.  16 Gold, 8 for the top 8 Women and 8 for the top 8 Men.  The next 8 Women and Men will receive a Silver Pin.  The next 8 will receive a Bronze Pin.    Each of the 24 players also receives a Certificate.  We will have pix of each of the categories courtesy of Colleen Austin. Watch the Blog on Monday, Dec. 5th, 2016. 


B EARL REMARKSThere seems to always be an ongoing discussion as to who the single season record holders are. Another question is; when, did the modern era begin?

The FSA started keeping the records in 1974/75.  However; the 1971/72 Preview lists a Roll of Champions.  Jay Snoddy led the men with 70 points and Mae Hall led the women with 80 points. The 1973/74 Preview also has a ROC’s (Roll of Champions) with Jay Snoddy having 86 points to lead the men and Mae Hall leading the women with 99 points. The 1974/75 Preview has Merritt Gordon leading the men with 58 points and the women were led by Audrey Haley with 113 points; Mae Hall with 103 and Kate Gruber with 73; these were all before the FSA took over the point system.

The 1975/76 Preview listed the first Roll of Champions with the records kept by the FSA. If we consider this to be an earlier era, that being up until the point system was reduced in 2001/02. The Modern era would start with the 2002/03 Preview.  (In all cases the points were scored in the year before they were listed in the Preview.)

The all-time single season leaders with at least 70 points in the earlier era would be.

Men: Glen Peltier 76, 1992/93; Jacque Bergeron 75, 1994/95; Glen Peltier 72, 1996/97; Jay Snoddy 71, 1976/77.

Women: Mae Hall 95, 1975/76; Audrey Haley 81, 1975/76; Mae Hall 77, 1977/78; Joan Wheeler 77, 2001/02; Joan Cook 76, 2001/02; Joan Cook 75, 2000/01; Wilma Krieg 74, 1976/77; Mae Hall 74, 1979/80; Ann Hersom 71, 1997/98; Joan Wheeler 71, 1997/98; Joan Wheeler 71, 1999/00.

The leaders in the Modern era:  Men: Mike Vassalotti 84,  2005-2006; Grant Boshart 82, 2005-2006; Earl Ball 52, 2007-2008; Stan Williamson 65, 2008-2009; Earl Ball 65, 2009-2010;  Chuck Stansburge 73; 2010-2011,  Earl Ball 76, 2011-2012; Earl Ball 67, 2012-2013; Jim Miller 63, 2013-2014; Jim Miller 58, 2014-2015; Henry Strong 77, 2015-2016.

Women: Judy Taylor 88, 2010-2011; Joan Cook 79, 2004-2005; Joan Cook 78, 2008-2008; Joan Wheeler 71, 2004-2005;  Joan Cook 51, 2007-2008;  Ellen Davis 58, 2008-2009; Judy Taylor 88, 2009-2010; Joan Cook 58, 2010-2011; Judy Taylor 82, 2011-2012;  Judy Taylor 85, 2012-2013; Judy Taylor 79, 2013-2014; Judy Taylor 63, 2014-2015; Helen Biaggi 52, 2015-2016.

I hope this helps put things in perspective.

Earl Ball, Reviewed and Revised by both Stan and Earl on December 02nd, 2016. Any discrepancies should be brought to the attention of Stan at

This entry was posted in FSA (All Districts). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.