Moose Jaw Singles Shuffleboard Report and Winners – 2018

Moose Jaw Singles Shuffleboard Report and Winners – 2018

Sent Along by Milly Malloy With Thanks:  The SSA held their 24th Annual singles tournament July 16th to 19th in Moose Jaw, Sask, at the T Eaton’s Centre. The number of shufflers was down somewhat due to the ISA held in High River, Alberta, but still they came from the USA, B.C., Alberta and across Sask. The President, Earl Berard, conducted the opening ceremonies. Don Swenson, assisted by Milly Molloy lead the singing of “O Canada” and Earl Berard said the opening Prayer. He then introduced the SSA Board of Directors. See Pic Below.

Wayne Draper, Pauline Budd, Ione Berard,
Milly Molloy – Treasuer, Bob Cobbe – Secretary, Aime Archer – Vice President,
Earl Berard – President

The rules were given by President Earl Berard. The City of Moose Jaw Councillor, Brian Swanson, after welcoming everyone to Moose Jaw, tossed the opening disk on our new roll out court.

A banquet of turkey with all the fixings was well received by hungry and happy shufflers. The annual meeting was then held by President Earl Berard. As next year is our 25th Anniversary, Earl Berard welcomed suggestions from the membership and they can be emailed to anyone on the Board. Aime Archer conducted the nominations and informed the shufflers that it would be for a two year term as decided on by the Board of Directors at a regular meeting. Earl Berard – President, Aime Archer – Vice President, Bob Cobbe- Secretary, Milly Molloy – Treasurer, Wayne Draper, Ione Berard – Directors, all have let their names stand and that was carried unanimously. Pauline Budd was unable to attend due to sickness and nominations from the floor voted Leona Duncan to the board. She accepted and nominations ceased. An SSA Board of Directors meeting was held after the end of the tournament to elect positions from this board. All positions remained the same and we welcomed Leona Duncan to the Board of Directors. All 7 directors are from Moose Jaw, SK

The 2018 winners are: Again we are proud to announce the oldest man in the tournament, Don Swenson, from Moose Jaw – in his 90’s, won first in the first event and was surprised and emotional to have accomplished this at his age and his first time in this event. Our sincere Congratulations are extended to Don.

Received and Posted on 2018 07 24 by Stan McCormack.

This entry was posted in CNSA General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.