“What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe.

The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?” 

To begin what we expect to be an interesting feature, Earl has prepared a list of questions for Glenn.  We expect Glenn to respond to the first two questions on Monday, April 27th.  We will post his reply on this page when we receive it.• Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.

Question 1) I think my opponent is using too long a cue (or too short) how do I check or what do I do? 

Glenn: If you suspect that your opponent is using a cue longer than 6’3” (B.2), you should ask the tournament director to measure the cue. If the cue is found to be too long, it must be removed from play. Shortening an adjustable cue would not be enough as it could be too easily changed again. If the tournament director believes that the player was knowingly using an illegal cue, a 10-point penalty may be assessed under Rule C.19.

It is not a violation to use a cue that is less than 6’3”.

Question 2) My opponents won the lag and choose yellow. They took a break and when they came back they had changed their mind and wanted black. Can they do that?

Glenn: The short answer is, “No”. This rule (C.1) has been changed at least six (6) times while I have been involved in the game and, consequently, is the cause of some misunderstanding. What has never changed is that once the color choice has been made, it is binding.

The current rule is, “Color choice must be made upon returning to the court.” The intent of the rule change was to allow partners up to ten minutes (the maximum time allowed between games) to discuss their color preference before making their choice. It was not the intent to allow them the opportunity to change their choice once made.

 

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe.

  1. Earl A Ball says:

    I don’t know about the rest of you but I learned something. I’ve had a number of occasions where a team has won the lag, choose a color and gone on break. While on break they’ve talked to someone and come back to the court and changed their mind as to which color they want. If it’s happened to me I suppose it’s happened to others.

    Like

  2. Pingback: “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. | Your Source for Shuffleboard News

  3. debsturat says:

    Love these Q&A’s. Thanks so much!!

    Like

  4. Nancy Sclafani says:

    Wasn’t there a time when you had to declare your color before leaving the court? Your color choice and time needed to be posted on the score board before taking your break. Or was this a district rule?

    Like

  5. stanistheman says:

    Glenn Replies: Nancy is absolutely correct. From October 1, 2007 to September 30, 2009, F.S.A. rules required players to post their color choice on the scoreboard before leaving the court after the lag for color. Once posted, the color choice could not be changed.

    Glenn Monroe

    Like

  6. Pingback: “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 10 | Your Source for Shuffleboard News

  7. Pingback: “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 17 | Your Source for Shuffleboard News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.