“What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe.

The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”

We had a fine response to last week’s questions.   To review last week’s questions and replies by Glenn, click on link: https://theshuffler.net/2020/04/26/whats-the-rule-by-fsa-state-td-glenn-monroe/  

We now move on and submit the next two questions to Glenn. We expect Glenn to respond on Monday, May 4th. We will post his reply on this page when we receive it.  We suggest that You give some thought to the indicated response.  Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.

1) Before we started our match the opponent was taking his speed shots and his partner told him which way the court drifted. Isn’t that coaching?

No, the prohibition against coaching (C.12) only applies once a game has begun and remains in effect until the last disc of the game has come to a stop. Speed shots and practice shots are pre-game activities and the rule against coaching does not apply

2) My opponent took his 1st speed shot and didn’t like where the disc stopped so he told his partner where to move it. Can he do that?

That depends on where he was told to move the disc. If the disc was simply removed from the court, there was no violation. However, if the disc was moved to provide a target, it would be a violation of Rule C.1.a, “There shall be no setups of any kind when taking speed shots.”

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe.

  1. Evan Engell says:

    I just had a situation last fall regarding the first of the two rules mentioned on here. Ann and I were in a mixed doubles tournament. I was at the head. When I was setting up for Ann, I told her about the drifts I had witnessed. Our opponents were so gracious they said nothing. After the match was over, and we won, Ann’s opponent said to Ann, “by the way, be careful going forward as that was coaching”. She was being so polite and wanted to help us. I didn’t learn about this conversation until we were on our way home. I was horrified thinking I had cheated. As soon as I got home, I looked up the Texas rules and I could not tell when a match “starts”.

    I got the Rio Grand Valley and Texas Shuffleboard folks involved and it turns out the match starts after the colors have been determined (they flip coins for that in Texas). I had cheated. Obviously I didn’t know because I did it in my typical “not quiet self”. I felt so bad. The following tournament I apologized profusely to the other couple. They were so gracious about it.

    I realize I am talking about the Texas rules. Because I learned how to play in Florida, I never second guessed the rules as Glen laid out on this discussion board. I learned on that one to ask before playing in Lakeside and Ontario this summer (if we get the chance to play).

    Thanks, Glen, for clarifying that point.

    Evan

    Like

  2. Earl A Ball says:

    Thanks Evan for pointing that out. Most places use some part of the FSA Rules but modify as necessary. Who would expect that you flipped coins. Out west the discs won’t stay in the shooting area. The Royal Palms shoots a different hammer order to fit their short (8) frame games. There’s another one, we call a frame each time we put the score on the board. I believe you call a frame when both ends have played.
    Earl

    Like

    • Glenn Monroe says:

      That is also sometimes a point of confusion in Florida, Earl. We often speak of a frame, an end, a round, or a half-round. An end is not defined by FSA rules but is commonly used as a substitute for a frame. By FSA rules, a round is when both ends of the court have played. A half-round is when only one end of the court has played. A frame, or end, is a half-round.
      Glenn

      Like

  3. Pingback: “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 10 | Your Source for Shuffleboard News

  4. Pingback: “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 17 | Your Source for Shuffleboard News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.