“What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 17

The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”

To review questions and answers of April 26th, 2020: https://theshuffler.net/2020/04/26/whats-the-rule-by-fsa-state-td-glenn-monroe/ To review questions and answers of May 4th, 2020: https://theshuffler.net/2020/05/04/whats-the-rule-by-fsa-state-td-glenn-monroe-3/

To review questions and answers for May 11th, 2020:

https://theshuffler.net/2020/05/10/whats-the-rule-by-fsa-state-td-glenn-monroe-2020-05-10/

We now move on and submit the next two questions to Glenn. We expect Glenn to respond on Monday, May 18th. We will post his reply on this page when we receive it. We suggest that You give some thought to the indicated response. Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.

We urge readers to send their questions or share rules situations you have experienced with the rest of us? Please send them along to Stanistheman_200@yahoo.com and we will post them if app1ropriate > or send them along to Glenn for review and response.

1. My opponent and I lagged for color. I was closest to the line but past the line. My opponent said they won because they were closest not past the line, is that right?

Glenn: No. Rule C.2.c says, “the disc nearest the line determines who shall have color choice”. It does not matter which side of the line the disc rests. The disc closest to the line, whether shot of the line or past the line, has color choice.

2. My opponent and I lagged for color and I was close to the line so my opponent shot my disc for the kitchen. He told me that if he had made it he would have won the lag. I told him I didn’t think so.

Glenn: I assume that you are talking about the 4th disc, in which case your opponent would lose the lag. Rule C.2.c states, “If the last black disc shot touches or moves the last yellow disc, the color choice goes to the player of yellow.” If one the other hand, it was one of the first three discs, there would be action taken and the lag would continue as normal.

 

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “What’s The Rule?” by FSA State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 05 17

  1. debsturat says:

    Loving this! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.