The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”
We now move on and submit the next two questions to Glenn. We expect Glenn to respond on Monday, June 1st. We will post his reply on this page when we receive it. We suggest that You give some thought to the indicated response. Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.
We urge readers to send their questions or share rules situations you have experienced with the rest of us? Please send them along to Stanistheman_200@yahoo.com and we will post them if app1ropriate > or send them along to Glenn for review and response.
Q. My opponent and I were playing, and I had the hammer shot but he should have. I shot and he hollered “out wrong”. I made the shot and since I had already shot, I was certain we won. Did We?
A. That depends on whether your disc was still in motion when he called “out wrong”. Rule C.3.a. says that if an error in color lead is discovered before the last disc has been shot and has come to a stop, the end must be played over again. So, if your disc were still in motion, the round would be played over. If your disc had come to a stop when notification was made, the frame would be over. If there was a dispute about whether or not the disc had come to a stop, I would rule that the end should be replayed.
Q. My opponent accidentally shot my disc and hit a good disc of mine. When we discovered it, he said 10 off and shot over. I didn’t think so. What should I have done?
A. What you should have done was to notify the tournament director. The T.D. would have told you that since your opponent hit your live disc, the penalty should have been 10-off for him plus any 10-offs he had on the board and you would have been credited with all good scores that you had on the board (but not anything you had in the kitchen) and the frame would be played over. (Rule C.3.b.) Remember, if you are not sure about the rule, ask the tournament director.