“What’s The Rule”? by State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 06 06

The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”

Due to the significant software changes by WordPress, I will give you the questions and answers in the same posting.  I apologize for the small print in both the questions and answers.   I CANNOT adjust.  Stan

Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.

1. If one end decides to get a call but the other end does not realize a call has been asked for and takes the next shot, what do you do?

The simple answer for the players is to immediately notify the tournament director who will then need to make a judgment call. Rule F.1.a says, “If a player wishes to make an appeal on any close disc, as to whether it is good or no good, it must be made before another disc is shot by either player…”.

Therefore, the T.D. must assess the situation to determine if (1) either player at the receiving end of the court had made a timely notification of an appeal and (2) the player who shot the errant disc knew or should have known that an appeal had been made. If either condition were not met, the T.D. would direct that play continue without further action. If, however, both conditions are met, the T.D. would apply Rule C.19* and assess a 10-Off penalty against the shooter. If the disputed disc were not hit, the T.D. would rule on whether it was good or not. If the disc was hit by the improper shot, the T.D. would also order the end to be played over.

*C.19 “In case of an improper action of a player not specifically covered by the rules, or in a match to which a Court Referee has not been assigned, the Tournament Director will ascertain the facts and may assess a penalty. He/she will also ensure that the offender gains no advantage from their improper action and, in addition, impose a 10-Off Penalty.”

2. Can you shoot the other player’s blocks in practice, at least the speed shots?

No, you cannot shoot the other player’s disc(s) for either practice or speed shots. The reasoning is simple for the practice shots but more complicated for the speed shots. In either case, it is tantamount to shooting your opponent’s disc.

As for the practice shots, Rule C.1.b. requires practice to be “on your assigned color”. The penalty for violation would be 10-Off for the offender under Rule C.19.

As for the speed shots, Rule C.1 tells us that the disc colors are assigned at the time of the draw, “The player or team with the lowest line number will play the first game with yellow discs, change color and play the second game with black discs.” Further, Rule C.1.a. says that speed shots are to “check the speed of the court.” It is the position of the Rules Committee that to use them to check the speed of your opponent’s disc would be improper. The penalty would also be 10-Off under Rule C.19.

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to “What’s The Rule”? by State TD Glenn Monroe. 2020 06 06

  1. Pingback: Your Source for Shuffleboard News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.