Posted on 2020-06- 14 by stanistheman
The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”
Due to the significant software changes by WordPress, I will give you the questions and answers in the same posting. I apologize for the small print in both the questions and answers. I CANNOT adjust. Stan
Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.
- My opponent keeps walking behind me while I am shooting. Can they do that?
No, they cannot. It is something I see all too often. Generally, your opponent is trying to see what the drift is from your perspective so they can adjust their disc placement. However, Rule C.9.a. says, “The player, after shooting a disc, shall step to the rear of his/her portion of the shooting area with their cue in a vertical position in order not to disturb the opponent’s play. PENALTY: 5-Off.” Some imaginative players may argue that the rule does not apply until after they have taken a shot, but they would be wrong. The intent of the rule is to prevent one player from distracting a shooting opponent at any time.
- I was using my cue to show my partner which discs were good, and I accidentally touched a disc but it didn’t move. My opponent said it should be a penalty, but I don’t think so since the disc did not move. Was I right?
Assuming that the disc you touched was a live disc, you were wrong. Although players generally refer to the error as “moving a disc”, Rule C.10. says that touching a live disc is the violation, even if the disc was not moved.
This entry was posted in GENERAL
. Bookmark the permalink