The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”
Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.
- The constant announcing of the score and announcing which discs are good or no good bothers me. Sometimes I think they are doing it just to annoy me. Is there a rule against that?
Sorry, but under most circumstances, there is no rule against it. In fact, Rule E.5 requires the court referee to call discs as to good or no good. If there is no referee on the court that responsibility falls to the players on the receiving end of the court. The exception would be when stating the score or stating which discs are “good” would constitute coaching. For example, if a player were to remind his/her partner of the score or the location of good discs just before he/she was to shoot, it would constitute coaching and be a prohibited act if there had been no such request from the shooter.
- I know there is a rule against a player playing a court more than once on the same day, but I can’t find it. Where is it written?
This is another example of a rule everybody knows that does not exist. It is a common practice among tournament directors to, as much as possible, avoid assigning the same court to the same player twice in the same day, but it is not a rule. The purpose of the practice is to avoid giving a player an undue advantage over an opponent.