
The Shuffler has arranged with FSA State Tournament Director Glenn Monroe to answer your questions relative to The Rules!! Thus the title: “What’s The Rule?”
If You have a question you would like answered, send it to Glenn at: gamonroe@gmail.com
Unless otherwise stated, the most recent rules and regulations of the Florida Shuffleboard Association shall be used to answer all questions.
- Why do I have to remain seated when play is from the other end of the court?
The reason is that unnecessary movement can distract players who are shooting from the opposite end of the court. Believe it or not, some players have been known to do that on purpose! Rule C.7 does allow you to stand up under a narrow set of circumstances, however, if it is done while a player is in the act of shooting you may still be subject to a penalty for interference. - All the discs had been shot from the other end and we had a close disc that required a 3rd call. While waiting for the tournament director I cleared off the other discs. My opponent said I could not do that. I was just trying to save time.
Your opponent would be correct if you moved a live disc. (Rule F.1.c) The reason is that memory can fail as to the position of the other discs while waiting for the tournament director to arrive to make that third call and result in further dispute. Additionally, if the T.D. determines that a penalty, the position, and value of other live discs may have a bearing on the value of the penalty.
Thank you!
LikeLike