Wilbur Estes General 2006 05 23 About the Bad Sport. Posted 2020 08 25

About the “Bad Sport” Label

Rarely in the Pro Division have I been labeled a “Bad Sport”.

It is strange that “Stealing the Lag” is considered “Poor Sportsmanship”, and “Stealing the Hammer” is not. What is the difference?

There is no place that becomes a player’s piece of real estate, simply because he shot there first. Until the rules prohibit it, “Stealing the Lag” is a legitimate “Play”.

Can it be that the player that places the “Bad Sport” label, is the player that should wear it? I think so. I believe that a player that verbally condemns his opponent’s strategy is, in actuality, the “Bad Sport”.

There are “Bad Sports” — and I have known a few.

One occasion that I recall vividly, because it cost me an important “Singles Match”, serves to define “Bad Sport”.

“State Open, Walking Singles, Quarter Finals, Third Game”, certainly an important match.

Score 67 —71. I am 71, 67 has the Hammer.

When my opponent can win with his Hammer, I ALWAYS try to place my first disc in the 10; whether it will out-point” him, or not. Most opponents will not leave a 10; they will clear.

In this instance, my opponent must clear (he cannot “out-point” it) if he clears successfully, I place another 10 (and keep doing so). If he “rolls” a Hide (or misses the clearing shot at any time) I try to hide a score (whether it is the “Winning Score”, or not), because it “puts pressure” on my opponent.

In this illustration of “Bad Sport”, my opponent “rolled” a perfect Tampa for me, with his third disc, and I was fortunate, I hid my last disc in the 7, where he could not “see” it.

At that precise moment there was a “spritz” of rain, a few half-dollar size drops fell, and evaporated almost instantly.

My opponent says, “We’ve got to play it over, because it rained”. I protested, “The courts are dry, you have to shoot”. He insisted that he did not have to shoot his Hammer.

We called the tournament director (who did not come out, so I went in). He asked did it rain, Of course, the answer was “Yes”. The tournament director said, “Then he does not have to shoot. You have to play it over.” I said, “But the court is dry.” I lost the argument, and subsequently lost the Match; I did not get the chance to hide the winning disc. Although the rule is specific, “If it rains, and the courts are wet …”, I lost because the tournament director did not know the rule, was too busy to bother, or did not care; and because my opponent was a “Bad Sport”. He knew it was wrong but he did it anyway..

I said to my opponent, “You know that is not right. He said, “Yes, but the Director ruled that we must play it over”. This, I believe, illustrates “Poor Sportsmanship”. My opponent was a “Bad Sport”; and in my opinion, remained so until he died.

I didn’t care much for the Tournament Director, either. Wilbur. “The Guy Who Wrote The Book

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.