When Do You Cover????

WHEN DO YOU COVER ON THE BOARD? WHEN DO YOU COVER OFF THE BOARD?

The general and antiquated rule for when, and how, to Cover a Good Disc is simply, “Cover your Good Disc when you are Ahead. Place another disc on the Board when you are Behind.”

This rule is better than none, but to make full use of The Modular

System, and to fine-tune your Game, your rule must be more explicit.

Rule:     “Cover your Good Disc off the Board; EXCEPT, when Your Opponent

has the Hammer, and needs one disc to go out — then Cover with a high

number”.

•    When you have the Hammer.

•    Covering off the Board is more likely to permit you to Score two

discs.

•    When Your Opponent has the Hammer.

•    Covering off the Board is more likely to allow you to keep it.

•    When Your Opponent has the Hammer, and needs one disc for Game.

When Your Opponent needs to Score one disc for Game, you must Cover on

the Board, with a high disc. This may force him to try to kill your

scores, and may keep him from advancing.

The number of Points Your Opponent needs governs where you place your

Cover. If he needs an 8 and you have a 7, you must Cover in the 7 or

place another disc in the 7.

•    Some players say, “When you have a Score, Cover it and keep it.”

•    However, the “Cover it and keep it” rule which was in use before the

development of The Modular System, does not recognize the subtle effect

of Module Relationships that The Modular System now reveals.

•    Because you use the Module Relationship to determine the actual value

of a Good Disc, you have more flexibility in the selection of your

Play, than the “Cover it and keep it rule” allows.

•    For example, your Scored Disc has three degrees of value.

•    If it will not advance you to a higher Module it is valuable only

because it influences Your Opponent’s use of his discs.

•    If you are Ahead, and it will advance you to a higher Module although

you do not really need it, it is valuable and desirable.

•    If you are Behind, and you need it to get Ahead, it is very valuable.

•    Before you can decide where to place your Cover you have to answer

the following questions.

Who has the Hammer?

How does he Drift?

How many discs does he have?

How many discs do I have

Wilbur

This entry was posted in GENERAL. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When Do You Cover????

  1. debsturat says:

    Not real clear on “Covering off the Board” means….

    Like

    • Earl Ball says:

      Not covering on the scoring surface. Some times you want to cover with a second scored disc to make the opponent shoot at your and not do something else.
      Earl

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.